Skip to content ↓


The curriculum at St. John’s Primary School is committed to meeting the requirements of the National Curriculum. Our intention is to provide opportunities for our children to develop into independent, confident, successful learners with high aspiration. We want our pupils to develop academic, moral and spiritual skills, so they can make a positive contribution to their school, parish community and the wider society by becoming global citizens ready to take their next steps into society.                                                         

We seek to raise aspirations, engender a sense of personal pride in achievement, provide a purpose and relevance for learning and ultimately help every pupil to find their strengths and interests. Pupils at all stages of their learning are helped to achieve their potential, recognise their strengths and identify what they need to do to improve. Children are challenged in their learning and encouraged to expand their skills and knowledge through varied curriculum opportunities.

The curriculum is designed to ensure coverage and progression and to provide pupils with memorable experiences, in addition to diverse and rich opportunities from which children can learn and develop a range of transferable skills. We strive to promote a love of learning and enjoyment of the curriculum, so children are inspired, have a sense of pride and develop confidence and resilience. Stimulating visits and visitors are also part of enhancing the curriculum.

EYFS; The curriculum is delivered using a play-based approach as outlined by the EYFS. Children are provided with a range of rich, meaningful first-hand experiences in which they explore, think creatively and are active. We aim to develop and foster positive attitudes towards learning, confidence, communication and physical development. As a team, we use observations and assessments to offer learning experiences in all seven areas of the EYFS curriculum. We identify current interests to create an overall theme which makes the learning meaningful and purposeful. The seven areas of learning are split between prime and specific areas of learning, as follows:

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and language
  • ·Physical development
  • ·Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Reading and Phonics (Reception, Year 1 and Year 2)

In Reception and KS1 Phonics and Reading are taught daily. In Phonics we follow the Letters and Sounds framework where children learn to recognise letters as sounds to blend for reading and segment for spelling. In reading sessions, the children develop their fluency, comprehension and enjoyment of books by reading one to one with an adult, in small guided groups and independently. Key Stage 1 is made up of Year 1 and Year 2. Our children are aged from 5 to 7 years old. Key Stage 2 is made up of Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6. Our children are aged from 7 to 11 years old. All children have daily Maths and English lessons including read and respond sessions. Children are also taught Science, IT, Art and Design Technology, French and PE. We have further enrichment activities through a variety of school clubs and sporting opportunities.

If you would like to discuss our curriculum further, please contact us on 01295 263740 or email